Haller Haus, Hamburg

Hanseatic architecture

Commerzbank is one of the most beautiful bank buildings that architect Martin Haller bequeathed to his native city – today the Bankpalast is being modernized with great attention to detail for the banking of tomorrow.

Haller Haus Facts

Name: Haller Haus
Project type: Investment
Location: Jungfernstieg 22-24, 20354 Hamburg
Area: 5,700 m²
Use: Office, Retail, Bank
Completion: 2019
Sale: not for sale
Architects: Art-Invest und LH Architekten, Hamburg
Place: Hamburg

HALLER HAUS IN DETAIL

Entrance to the staircase

The magnificent two-storey Kassensaal in the centre of the building is a manifestation of the imperial era. In future, employees and customers will be able to access the Kassensaal with the adjacent office and conference areas through a ground-level main portal via a generous flight of stairs.

Hanseatic architecture

In 1899, when it was built, people still shook their heads at how a bank building could be built so far away from the stock exchange. But Martin Haller’s initiative for the Dresdner Bank led to the building of a branch on the prestigious Binnenalster. Compared to the ostentatious overstatement of the neighbouring Hof-Hotel in Hamburg, the building is being constructed with a noble reserve. From a distance, it even adapted to the cornice lines of the new town hall without wanting to outdo it – after all, he was its architect.

Central in the Alsterfoyer

The Haller Haus is located directly in the vestibule to the Alster. It gives Hamburg its special personality and the unmistakable face of Hamburg city centre – and one of the reasons why the Hanseatic city is also called “the most beautiful city in the world”. 86 million day-visitors and 12 million overnight-stays per year speak for themselves.

Haller Haus, Hamburg

Hanseatische Architektur

Die Commerzbank zählt zu den schönsten Bankgebäuden, die der Architekt Martin Haller seiner Geburtsstadt vermachte – heute wird der Bankpalast mit viel Liebe zum Detail für das Banking von morgen modernisiert.

Haller Haus Fakten

Name: Haller Haus
Projektart: Investment
Lage: Jungfernstieg 22-24, 20354 Hamburg
Area: 5.700 m²
Nutzung: Büro, Einzelhandel, Bank
Fertigstellung: 2019
Verkauf: nicht vorgesehen
Entwurf: Art-Invest und LH Architekten, Hamburg
Ort: Hamburg

HALLER HAUS IM DETAIL

Entree zum Stieg

Der prächtige zweigeschossige Kassensaal im Zentrum des Gebäudes ist ein Manifest der Kaiserzeit. Zukünftig gelangen Mitarbeiter und Kunden durch ein ebenerdiges Hauptportal über eine großzügige Freitreppe in die Kassenhalle mit den angrenzenden Büro- und Konferenzbereichen.

Hanseatische Architektur

Im Baujahr 1899 schüttelte man noch den Kopf wie man ein Bankgebäude so weit von der Börse entfernt bauen könne. Doch Martin Haller setzte sich mit seiner Initiative für die Dresdner Bank durch an der repräsentativen Binnenalster eine Filiale zu bauen. Gegenüber dem protzigen Overstatement des benachbarten Hamburger Hof-Hotels übt sich der Bau in vornehmer Zurückhaltung. Er passte sich in der Fernwirkung sogar den Gesimslinien des neuen Rathauses an, ohne dieses übertrumpfen zu wollen – er war schließlich sein Architekt.

Zentral im Alsterfoyer

Das Haller Haus liegt direkt im Vorraum zur Alster. Es verleiht Hamburg seine besondere Persönlichkeit und das unverkennbare Gesicht der Hamburger Innenstadt – und einer der Gründe, warum die Hansestadt auch „die schönste Stadt der Welt“ genannt wird. 86 Millionen Tagesgäste und 12 Millionen Übernachtungen pro Jahr sprechen für sich.