Deutsche Bank Campus, Berlin

Symbolic location

When the Berlin architect Günther Hönow built the impressive bank building around the corner of Ernst-Reuter-Platz in 1966, this was the setting for the “New Berlin”. With the arrival of innovative digital laboratories such as Deutsche Telekom Laboratories or the Charlottenburg Innovations Centrum (CHIC), the square has once again become a scene for the “New Berlin”, a creative interface in the middle of the city.

Deutsche Bank Campus Facts

Name: Deutsche Bank Campus (Bestand)
Project type: Development
Location: Otto-Suhr-Allee 6 - 16, 10585 Berlin; Berlin-Charlottenburg
Plot size: 5,202 m²
Area: 13,479 m²
Use: Office
Acquired in: Q1 2012
Completion: 1968
Sale: RREEF Investment GmbH
Architects: HPP Hentrich-Petschnigg & Partner GmbH & Co. KG Köln
Place: Berlin

DEUTSCHE BANK CAMPUS IN DETAIL

Perfect proportions

The architect Günther Hönow (1923-2001) built the 15-storey building with 13,500 m² of floor space with a sense for form, colour and material effects. The high-rise building consists of a reinforced concrete skeleton. The all-round galleries carry white-enamelled lamellas of light metal. The balustrade and the lamellas emphasize the horizontal of the high-rise building – already in 1968 the office spaces could be designed variably. As part of the upgrading measures, the building received LEED “Gold” certification for Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design.

Scene of the systems

The Ernst-Reuter-Platz is not only one of the largest urban squares and traffic junctions in Western Europe, it is also a scene of the systems. This is where the most renowned architects of German modernism built – and literally underpinned the West Berlin claim to pioneering architecture and urban planning in the battle of systems at the city’s central showcase address.

Deutsche Bank Campus, Berlin

In the middle of various possibilities

Around the Ernst-Reuter-Platz are important institutions such as the TU Berlin, Telekom Innovation Laboratories, large retail chains and residential buildings with cafés. The branching traffic axes lead to the Tiergarten, various Berlin sights and the towering new buildings at the Zoologischer Garten. You’ll be fast everywhere if you don’t want to linger in front of the central water fountain.

Deutsche Bank Campus, Berlin

Symbolträchtige Lage

Als der Berliner Architekt Günther Hönow 1966 das imposante Bankgebäude um die Ecke vom Ernst-Reuter-Platz baute, lag hier das Schaufenster des „Neuen Berlin“. Mit dem Einzug innovativer Digitallabore wie Deutsche Telekom Laboratories oder dem Charlottenburger Innovations Centrum (CHIC) avanciert der Platz erneut zu einem Schauplatz für das „Neue Berlin“, eine kreative Schnittstelle mitten in der Stadt.

Deutsche Bank Campus Fakten

Name:
Deutsche Bank Campus (Bestand)
Projektart:
Development
Lage:
Otto-Suhr-Allee 6 - 16, 10585 Berlin; Berlin-Charlottenburg
Grundstück:
5.202 m²
Fläche:
13.479 m²
Nutzung:
Bürogebäude
Erworben:
Q1 2012
Fertigstellung:
1968
Verkauf:
RREEF Investment GmbH
Entwurf:
HPP Hentrich-Petschnigg & Partner GmbH & Co. KG Köln
Ort:
Berlin
Cookie Preferences

DEUTSCHE BANK CAMPUS IM DETAIL

Perfekte Proportionen

Der Architekt Günther Hönow (1923-2001) baute das 15-geschossige Gebäude mit 13.500 m² Nutzfläche mit einem sicheren Gefühl für Form, Farbe und Materialwirkung. Das Hochhaus besteht aus einem Stahlbetonskelett. Die umlaufenden Galerien tragen weißemaillierte Lamellen aus Leichtmetall. Durch die Brüstungsbalken und die Lamellen wird die Horizontale des Hochhauses betont – bereits 1968 ließen sich die Büroflächen variabel gestalten. Im Zuge der Aufwertungsmaßnahmen erhält das Haus die LEED-Zertifizierung „Gold“ für Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design.

Schauplatz der Systeme

Der Ernst-Reuter-Platz ist nicht nur einer der größten städtischen Plätze und Verkehrsknotenpunkte Westeuropas, er ist auch ein Schauplatz der Systeme. Hier bauten die renommiertesten Architekten der deutschen Moderne – und untermauerten wortwörtlich im Kampf der Systeme an der zentralen Vorzeigeadresse der Stadt den West-Berliner Anspruch auf wegweisende Architektur und Stadtplanung.

Deutsche Bank Campus, Berlin

Inmitten der Möglichkeiten

Rund um den Ernst-Reuter-Platz liegen wichtige Institutionen, wie die TU Berlin, die Telekom Innovation Laboratories, große Einzelhandelsfilialisten und Wohngebäude mit Cafés. Die abzweigenden Verkehrsachsen führen zum Tiergarten, diversen Berliner Sehenswürdigkeiten und den hoch aufragenden Neubauten am Zoologischen Garten. Schnell ist man überall, wenn man nicht vor der zentralen Wasserfontäne verweilen mag.