Alter Wall, Hamburg

Between two worlds

A rediscovery is revolutionizing the city of Hamburg: 15,000 m² of space for art, enjoyment and shopping as well as 18,000 m² of modern working space are being created in the Alter Wall. Behind the city’s longest historical facade, directly opposite the city hall, the architects of Gerkan, Marg und Partner are creating a completely new world, like the hanseatic city has never seen before.

Alter Wall Facts

Name: Alter Wall
Website: www.alter-wall-hamburg.de
Project type: Project Development
Location: Alter Wall, 20457 Hamburg; inner City (Germany)
Plot size: 5,000 m²
Area: Retail, Catering: 12,000 m² / Office: 18,000 m² / Museum: 3,000 m²
Parking slots: 220
Use: Retail, Office, Museum, Catering
Acquired in: 2012
Completion: Alter Wall 10-32: Q2 2019 / Alter Wall 2-8: Q4 2019
Architects: gmp - Gerkan Marg und Partner
Place: Hamburg

ALTER WALL IN DETAIL

Connecting opposites

The Alsterfleet not only marks the boundary between the Old and New Town. It also connects two retail segments: the exclusive luxury segment of Neuer Wall and Passagenviertel on the one hand and the diverse brand world of Mönckebergstrasse and Spitalerstrasse on the other. The Alter Wall ensemble integrates both worlds by connecting the two most important retail locations of the city with the best pedestrian frequencies, the Bucerius Passage and the Alsterfleetbrücke.

Alter Wall 2

Working in light

The central axis of the atrium provides natural light for high-quality work surfaces over the entire length of the complex. Thus, under the roof of the ensemble, a bright and open working environment with a clear room height of 3 metres is created. All office areas can be flexibly designed as cellular or group offices for optimal work and meeting quality. The in-house underground car park provides parking space for 220 cars.

Art in the centre

The Bucerius Kunst Forum opens its new exhibition spaces in the heart of the Old Wall. The Hamburg cultural institution attracts thousands of art lovers to the city every year – in 2015, the number of visitors exceeded 350,000. Since 2002, the Kunst Forum with its changing international exhibitions on antiquity and modernity has been an integral part of Hamburg’s art mile.

From fortness rampart to a boulevard

The Alter Wall has a varied biography. In the 15th century, it served as a fortification to secure the eastern flank of the old town, Heinrich Heine dined here on Parisian delicacies and at the turn of the century, shopping and commerce pulsated along the chic boulevard. The restored sand and natural stone facade, which is a protected historic monument, today breathes the flair of the fin-de-siècle again.

Alter Wall Movie

Alter Wall, Hamburg

Auf der Nahtstelle zweier Welten

Eine Wiederentdeckung revolutioniert die Hamburger City: Am Alten Wall entstehen 15.000 m² Fläche für Kunst, Genuss und Shopping sowie 18.000 m² Raum für modernes Arbeiten. Hinter der längsten historischen Fassade der Stadt, direkt gegenüber vom Rathaus, erschaffen die Architekten von Gerkan, Marg und Partner eine komplett neue Welt, wie sie die Hansestadt noch nicht gesehen hat.

Alter Wall Fakten

Name:
Alter Wall
Projektart:
Projektentwicklung
Lage:
Alter Wall, 20457 Hamburg; Innenstadt
Grundstück:
5.000 m²
Fläche:
Einzelhandel, Gastronomie: 12.000 m² / Büro: 18.000 m² / Museum: 3.000 m²
Stellplätze:
220
Nutzung:
Einzelhandel, Büro, Museum, Gastronomie
Erworben:
2012
Fertigstellung:
Alter Wall 10-32: Q2 2019 / Alter Wall 2-8: Q4 2019
Entwurf:
gmp - Gerkan Marg und Partner
Ort:
Hamburg
Cookie Preferences

ALTER WALL IM DETAIL

Auf der Nahtstelle zweier Welten

Der Alsterfleet am Alten Wall markiert nicht nur die Grenze zwischen Alt- und Neustadt, hier treffen auch zwei Einzelhandels-Welten aufeinander: das exklusive Luxussegment von Neuem Wall und Passagenviertel auf der einen und die vielfältige Markenwelt von Mönckebergstraße und Spitalerstraße auf der anderen Seite. Das Alter Wall Ensemble integriert beide Welten indem es mit der Bucerius-Passage und der Alsterfleetbrücke die beiden wichtigsten Einzelhandelslagen der Stadt mit den besten Passantenfrequenzen verbindet.

Alter Wall 2

Arbeiten im Licht

Die zentrale Achse des Lichthofes spendet auf der ganzen Länge des Komplexes natürliches Licht für hochwertige Arbeitsflächen. Unter dem Dach des Ensembles entsteht so eine helle und offene Arbeitsumgebung mit lichter Raumhöhe von 3 Metern. Alle Büroflächen lassen sich flexibel als Zell- oder Gruppenbüros gestalten für optimale Arbeits- und Begegnungsqualität. Die hauseigene Tiefgarage schafft Stellflächen für 220 Pkws.

Kunst im Zentrum

Das Bucerius Kunst Forum eröffnet seine neuen Ausstellungsräume im Herzen des Alten Walls. Die Hamburger Kulturinstitution lockt jedes Jahr tausende Kunstinteressierte in die City – alleine 2015 waren es mehr als 350.000 Besucher. Seit 2002 ist das Kunst Forum mit seinen wechselnden internationalen Ausstellungen zu Antike wie Moderne ein fester Bestandteil der Hamburger Kunstmeile.

Vom Festungswall zur Flaniermeile

Der Alte Wall hat eine wechselvolle Biographie. Als Befestigungsanlage sicherte er im 15. Jahrhundert die Ostflanke der Altstadt, Heinrich Heine speiste hier Delikatessen von Pariser Qualität und zur Jahrhundertwende pulsierten Einkauf und Handel entlang des mondänen Boulevards. Die restaurierte denkmalgeschützte Sand- und Natursteinfassade atmet heute wieder den Flair des Fin-de-Siècle.

Alter Wall Film