Klöpperhaus, Hamburg

Downtown in change

At the turn of the century, cotton merchant Wilhelm Klöpper built a prestigious address for his cotton company directly on Hamburg’s Rödingsmarkt – and at the same time created a completely new type of property for Hamburg: the Kontorhaus. Modern furnishings transform the loft-like floors into trendsetting working environments.

Klöpperhaus Facts

Name: Klöpperhaus
Website:
Project type: Refurbishment
Location: Rödingsmarkt 9, 20459 Hamburg-Neustadt
Plot size: 1,508 m²
Area: 11,180 m² BGF
Use: Office, Retail
Acquired in: Q4 2013
Completion: Q4 2016
Sale: sold to Cornerstone Core Fund TopCo S.C.A.
Architects: MSM Meyer Schmitz-Morkramer Rhein GmbH & Kunst + Herbert, Büro für Forschung und Hausbau
Place: Hamburg

KLÖPPERHAUS IN DETAIL

Downtown in change

Downtown Hamburg is transforming – and the Klöpperhaus is right in the middle of it. The Business Improvement District Nikolaiquartier (BID) is transforming the city centre with various redesign measures on a surface area of 17 football pitches. From the Klöpperhaus to the first harbour quay it is only a subway stop, the Jungfernstieg is just a few minutes’ walk away and the Elbphilharmonie Concert Hall unfolds its spectacular silhouette within sight.

Klöpperhaus Hamburg

Founder's Spirit Resident

Nowhere in Hamburg is the founding spirit more at home than at Rödingsmarkt. Once the cradle of the Kaufmann City lay here. In the 12th century, Dutch settlers laid out canals and roads for the transport of goods from the port to the city centre. With the construction of the Speicherstadt in the 19th century, many canals became obsolete – and were filled in. Today, the U3 underground line runs where once the barges ran between the city and the port.

Klöpperhaus Hamburg

A castle for the workspace

Seven floors of Art Nouveau with playful ornaments and lovingly restored details lend the monumental building complex a historical patina – behind it, the most modern working worlds open up. Individually tailored workplace concepts can be created on all seven floors. Separate workstations are transformed into open office spaces in no time at all and vice versa. Depending on the work situation, the premises can even be divided or separated.

Klöpperhaus Hamburg

Klöpperhaus Film

Making-of klöpperhaus, Hamburg

Klöpperhaus, Hamburg

Downtown im Wandel

Direkt am Hamburger Rödingsmarkt baute der Baumwollhändler Wilhelm Klöpper zur Jahrhundertwende eine repräsentative Adresse für sein Baumwollunternehmen – und schuf damit zugleich einen völlig neuen Gebäudetyp für Hamburg: das Kontorhaus. Eine moderne Ausstattung verwandelt die loftartigen Geschosse in zukunftsweisende Arbeitswelten.

Klöpperhaus Fakten

Name: Klöpperhaus
Website:
Projektart: Refurbishment
Lage: Rödingsmarkt 9, 20459 Hamburg-Neustadt
Grundstück: 1.508 m²
Fläche: 11.180 m² BGF
Nutzung: Office, Retail
Erworben: Q4 2013
Fertigstellung: Q4 2016
Verkauf: Verkauft an Cornerstone Core Fund TopCo S.C.A.
Entwurf: MSM Meyer Schmitz-Morkramer Rhein GmbH & Kunst + Herbert, Büro für Forschung und Hausbau
Ort: Hamburg

KLÖPPERHAUS IM DETAIL

Downtown im Wandel

Downtown Hamburg verwandelt sich – und das Klöpperhaus ist mittendrin. Auf einer Grundfläche von 17 Fußballfeldern verwandelt der Business Improvement District Nikolaiquartier (BID) mit diversen Neugestaltungsmaßnahmen die Innenstadt. Vom Klöpperhaus zum ersten Hafenkai ist es nur eine U-Bahn-Haltestelle, der Jungfernstieg liegt wenige Fußminuten entfernt und die Elbphilharmonie entfaltet ihre spektakuläre Silhouette in Sichtweite.

Klöpperhaus Hamburg

Gründergeist wohnhaft

Nirgendwo in Hamburg ist der Gründergeist so zu Hause wie am Rödingsmarkt. Einst lag hier die Wiege der Kaufmann City. Niederländische Siedler legten im 12. Jahrhundert Fleete und Straßen für den Warentransport vom Hafen in die Innenstadt an. Mit dem Bau der Speicherstadt im 19. Jahrhundert wurden viele Fleete obsolet – und zugeschüttet. Die U3 verkehrt heute, wo einst die Schuten zwischen Stadt und Hafen verkehrten.

Klöpperhaus Hamburg

Ein Schloß für den Workspace

Sieben Stockwerke Jugendstil mit verspielten Ornamenten und liebevoll restaurierten Details verleihen dem monumentalen Gebäudekomplex historische Patina – dahinter eröffnen sich modernste Arbeitswelten. Auf allen sieben Etagen lassen sich individuell maßgeschneiderte Arbeitsplatzkonzepte gestalten. Aus separaten Workstations werden im Handumdrehen offene Büroflächen und umgekehrt. Je nach Arbeitslage können die Räumlichkeiten sogar geteilt oder abgetrennt werden.

Klöpperhaus Hamburg

Klöpperhaus Film

Making-of klöpperhaus, Hamburg