Bismarckplatz, Essen

Office space in the middle of Essen city centre

Otto Fürst von Bismarck represents one of the most prestigious addresses in Essen: the listed building of the railway direction has been completely renovated and will open new office space on 17,711 m² in the middle of the city centre at Bismarckplatz.

Bismarckplatz Facts

Name: Bismarckplatz
Project type: Long-term Investment
Location: Bismarckplatz 1, 45128 Essen
Plot size: 5,685 m²
Area: approx. 17,700 m²
Parking slots: 297 parking spaces
Use: Office
Acquired in: Januar 2017
Completion: 1895 / 1950 / 2010
Place: Essen

BISMARCKPLATZ IN DETAIL

Royal working environments

The service building of the Royal Railway Directorate in Essen was built in 1895 on Bismarckplatz and was completely renovated in 2010. In the course of the refurbishment work, the facades and the cross vaulting on the lower floors were modernized, a new spacious foyer was built and isolated individual offices were combined to form bright open-plan offices. While the glass front facade is reminiscent of the war-damaged central gable, the statue of Essen’s first honorary citizen underlines Bismarck’s services to the Ruhr industry.

License to steam

The first iron-clad railway in Germany was laid south of Essen in 1828 – and certainly not in Nuremberg. Only the fact that the pioneer railway was never granted a steam licence by the local railway company secured Nuremberg’s place in history as the cradle of the railway. For fear of a “speed frenzy”, the Essen authorities initially only allowed Germany’s first railway to use the proven horsepower.

Bismarckplatz Essen

Excellent connection

The direction of the Railway is located in a central city centre location in Essen’s southern district with excellent public and private transport connections. The underground station Bismarckplatz is only five minutes away, the A40 motorway connects Bismarckplatz with the city and the entire Ruhr area. There are 297 parking spaces in the underground car park. The location around Bismarckplatz is one of Essen’s preferred office locations, alongside the city centre, and is now undergoing comprehensive revitalisation.

Bismarckplatz Essen

Bismarckplatz, Essen

Büroflächen mitten in der Essener Innenstadt

Otto Fürst von Bismarck hat in Essen eine der repräsentativsten Adressen hinter sich: das denkmalgeschützte Gebäude der Essener Eisenbahndirektion wurde komplett saniert und eröffnet zukünftig auf 17.711 m² neue Büroflächen mitten in der Innenstadt am Bismarckplatz.

Bismarckplatz Fakten

Name: Bismarckplatz
Projektart: Langfristiges Investment
Lage: Bismarckplatz 1, 45128 Essen
Grundstück: 5.685 m²
Fläche: ca. 17.700 m²
Stellplätze: 297 Stellplätze
Nutzung: Büro
Erworben: Januar 2017
Fertigstellung: 1895 / 1950 / 2010
Ort: Essen

BISMARCKPLATZ IM DETAIL

Königliche Arbeitswelten

Das Dienstgebäude der Königlichen Eisenbahndirektion Essen wurde 1895 am Bismarckplatz erbaut und 2010 kernsaniert. Im Zuge der Sanierungsarbeiten wurden die Fassaden und das Kreuzgewölbe in den unteren Etagen modernisiert, ein neues großzügiges Foyer erbaut und isolierte Einzelbüros zu lichten Großraumbüros vereinigt. Während die gläserne Frontfassade an den kriegszerstörten Mittelgiebel erinnert, unterstreicht die Statue des ersten Essener Ehrenbürgers die Verdienste Bismarcks für die Ruhrindustrie.

Lizenz zum Dampf

Der erste eisenbeschlagene Schienenweg in Deutschland wurde 1828 südlich von Essen verlegt – und keinesfalls in Nürnberg. Einzig der Umstand, dass man der Pionierbahn der lokalen Eisenbahngesellschaft nie eine Dampflizenz erteilte, sicherte Nürnberg den Platz als Wiege der Eisenbahn in die Geschichte einzugehen. Aus Angst vor einem „Geschwindigkeitsrausch“ gestatteten die Essener Behörden Deutschlands erster Eisenbahn anfänglich nur den Einsatz der bewährten Pferdestärken.

Bismarckplatz Essen

Exzellente Anbindung

Die Eisenbahndirektion liegt in einer zentralen Innenstadtlage im Essener Südviertel mit hervorragenden Verkehrsanbindungen an den öffentlichen Nah- und Individualverkehr. Die U-Bahn Station Bismarckplatz liegt nur fünf Minuten entfernt, die A40 verbindet den Bismarckplatz mit der Stadt und dem gesamten Ruhrgebiet. 297 Pkw-Stellplätze finden sich in der Tiefgarage. Die Lage um den Bismarckplatz zählt neben der City zum bevorzugten Bürostandort in Essen, der heute eine umfassende Revitalisierung erfährt.

Bismarckplatz Essen