Kö-Bogen, Dusseldorf

The change makes a bow

Every building designed by star architect Daniel Libeskind speaks its own unmistakable language – same as the Kö-Bogen in Düsseldorf. With this shopping and office ensemble, the New Yorker has created a modern icon in Düsseldorf that no one can escape.

Kö-Bogen Facts

Name: Kö-Bogen
Website:
Project type: Core-Investment
Location: Königsallee 2, 40212 Dusseldorf; Dusseldorf city centre, CBD
Plot size: approx. 9.280 m²
Area: approx. 41.200 m² / approx. 25.600 m² Retail, approx. 15.300 m² Office
Parking slots: 631
Use: Office and Retail
Acquired in: 2013
Completion: Autumn 2013
Place: Dusseldorf

KÖ-BOGEN IN DETAIL

The change makes a bow

Daniel Libeskind, architect, urban planner and designer in the same person, designed a spectacular ensemble of buildings on Jan Wellem-Platz, which was awarded 2014 the world’s best building in the urban renewal category. 170,000 cubic metres of excavation pit, 36 offices involved, 45 planning companies, 60,000 plans and protocols and 10 tons of paper, these are just some of the organisational superlatives that characterise the construction of the Kö-Bogen.

Kö-Bogen, Düsseldorf

A facade like life

“Life is complex, feelings are complex, individual needs are complex.” For Daniel Libeskind, contemporary architecture must translate this complexity. The Kö-Bogen facade visibly conveys this view to the outside world: contrasting lines merge for the observer to form a homogeneous ensemble that offers space for approx. 25,600 m² of retail space as well as 15,300 m² of office space.

Kö-Bogen, Düsseldorf

In the best company

The top tenants today include exclusive retail brands such as Breuninger, Tesla and Apple. The Boston Consulting Group has moved into its German headquarters here.

Kö-Bogen

Kö-Bogen Fakten

NameKö-Bogen
Webseitehttp://www.koebogen.info/de/
ProjektartLangfristiges Core-Investment mit einer hervorragenden Standort- und Gebäudequalität
LageDüsseldorf Innenstadt, CBD (Königsallee 2, 40212 Düsseldorf)
Grundstückca. 9.279 m²
Flächeca. 41.200 m² / ca. 25.600 m² Retail, ca. 15.300 m² Büro
Stellplätze631
NutzungBüro und Einzelhandel
Erworben2013
FertigstellungHerbst 2013

Der Wandel schlägt einen Bogen

Jeder Bau des Stararchitekten Daniel Libeskind spricht eine eigene unverkennbare Sprache - so auch der Kö-Bogen in Düsseldorf. Mit dem Einkaufs- und Büroensemble hat der New Yorker eine moderne Ikone in Düsseldorf geschaffen, der sich niemand entziehen kann.

Kö-Bogen im Detail

Der Wandel schlägt einen Bogen

Daniel Libeskind, Architekt, Stadtplaner und Designer in Personal-Union, entwarf ein spektakuläres Gebäudeensemble am Jan Wellem-Platz, dass 2014 als weltbestes Gebäude in der Kategorie Stadterneuerung ausgezeichnet wurde. 170.000 Kubikmeter Baugrubenaushub, 36 beteiligte Ämter, 45 Planungsunternehmen, 60.000 Pläne und Protokolle und 10 Tonnen Papier, das sind nur einige der organisatorischen Superlative, die den Bau des Kö-Bogens charakterisieren.

 

Eine Fassade wie das Leben

„Das Leben ist komplex, Gefühle sind komplex, individuelle Bedürfnisse sind komplex.“ Zeitgemäße Architektur muss für Daniel Libeskind diese Komplexität übersetzen. Die Kö-Bogen Fassade transportiert diese Auffassung sichtbar nach Außen: Kontrastierende Linien fügen sich für den Betrachter zu einem homogenen Ensemble zusammen, das neben Raum für ca. 25.600 m² Retailflächen auch Platz für 15.300 m² Büroflächen bietet.

 

In bester Gesellschaft

Im Kö-Bogen kann man sich sehen lassen. Zu den Topmietern zählen heute exklusive Einzelhandelsmarken wie Breuninger, Tesla und Apple. Die Boston Consulting Group hat hier ihre Deutschlandzentrale bezogen.