Wolkenbügel, Dusseldorf

Landmark in Dusseldorf harbour

The port of Dusseldorf has transformed itself from a trading centre to a reloading point for ideas. David Chipperfield, Frank Gehry and Renzo Piano are among the star architects whose buildings extend the formal language of architecture – thus creating a home for creativity: the Media Harbour. The Wolkenbügel is the extraordinary landmark at its southern end.

Wolkenbügel Facts

Name: Wolkenbügel
Project type: Investment
Location: Franziusstr. 5 / Am Handelshafen 2-4, 40221 Dusseldorf
Plot size: 2,946 m²
Area: approx. 7,290 m²
Parking slots: 130
Use: Office, Event
Acquired in: Q4 2016
Place: Dusseldorf

WOLKENBÜGEL IN DETAIL

Room in suspension

In 1926 the Wolkenbügel caused a sensation at the Great Berlin Art Exhibition. With his design, the Russian sky stormer, graphic artist and architect El Lissitzy (1890-1941) created a radical building. As a counter-design to the New York skyscrapers, he discovered the floating horizontal. Wansleben Architekten (Cologne) realized the bold concept around 80 years later at the turn of the millennium. The result: a 35-metre long, crane-like cantilevered bridge girder, which connects the most modern office and event areas on 7,293 m² in a self-supporting manner.

Anchorage for media

In times of structural change, Dusseldorf’s commercial port threatened to silt-up. But the city, which carries the anchor in the city coat of arms, created a way to transfer the shipping heritage into a digital future with the vision of the Media Harbour. The port advanced to become a rolemodel district, which today is home to media, communication, advertising and gastronomy. The 2,964 m² site at the commercial port 2-4 is part of this vision, which is embodied outstandingly by the Wolkenbügel consisting of a bridge girder, an event hall and the listed pump house, which has been converted into an office building.

Wolkenbügel Düsseldorf

Quickly at the quay edge

The Media Harbor has excellent connections by tram, bus and individual transport. It takes fifteen Minutes by train from the main railway station to the Media Harbour, and the Rhine railway runs every ten minutes to the new tram stations “Speditionsstraße” and “Medienhafen, Kesselstraße”.

Wolkenbügel Düsseldorf

Wolkenbügel, Düsseldorf

Landmark im Düsseldorfer Hafen

Der Düsseldorfer Hafen hat sich von einem Handelsplatz zu einem Umschlagplatz der Ideen gewandelt. Große Architektennamen überragen die alten Verladekräne.
David Chipperfield, Frank Gehry und Renzo Piano zählen zu den Stararchitekten, die mit ihren Bauten die Formsprache der Architektur erweitern – und so der Kreativität eine Heimat schaffen: den MedienHafen. Der Wolkenbügel ist die außergewöhnliche Landmarke an seinem südlichen Kopfende.

Wolkenbügel Fakten

Name: Wolkenbügel
Projektart: Investment
Lage: Franziusstr. 5 / Am Handelshafen 2-4, 40221 Düsseldorf
Grundstück: 2.946 m²
Area: ca. 7.290 m²
Stellplätze: 130
Nutzung: Büro, Eventfläche
Erworben: Q4 2016
Ort: Düsseldorf

WOLKENBÜGEL IM DETAIL

Raum in der Schwebe

1926 sorgte der Wolkenbügel auf der Großen Berliner Kunstausstellung erstmals für Furore. Der russische Himmelstürmer, Grafiker und Architekt El Lissitzy (1890-1941) schuf mit seinem Entwurf ein radikales Gebäude. Als Gegenentwurf zu den New Yorker Wolkenkratzern, entdeckte er die schwebende Horizontale. Wansleben Architekten (Köln) realisierte rund 80 Jahre später zur Jahrtausendwende das kühne Konzept. Resultat: Ein 35 Meter langer, kranartig auskragender Brückenträger, der selbstragend auf 7. 293 m² modernste Büro – und Eventflächen verbindet.

Ankerplatz für Medien

In Zeiten des Strukturwandels drohte der Düsseldorfer Wirtschaftshafen zu versanden. Doch die Stadt, die den Anker im Stadtwappen führt, schuf mit der Vision des MedienHafens einen Weg das Schifffahrtserbe in eine digitale Zukunft zu überführen. Der Hafen avancierte zu einem Vorzeige-Viertel, in dem heute Medien, Kommunikation, Werbung und Gastronomie zu Hause sind. Das 2.964 m² Grundstück am Handelshafen 2-4 ist Teil dieser Vision, die der Wolkenbügel aus Brückenträger, Veranstaltungshalle und dem zum Bürogebäude umgebauten, denkmalgeschützten Pumpenhaus herausragend verkörpert.

Wolkenbügel Düsseldorf

Schnell an der Kaikante

Der MedienHafen ist exzellent angebunden über Straßenbahn, Busse und Individualverkehr. Vom Hauptbahnhof bis in den MedienHafen braucht man mit der Bahn eine Viertelstunde, die Rhein-Bahn verkehrt im Zehnminutentakt zu den neuen Straßenbahnstationen „Speditionsstraße“ und „Medienhafen, Kesselstraße“.

Wolkenbügel Düsseldorf